PDA

View Full Version : 18 classic hull design

CDMA
04-11-2003, 12:02 PM
Some of this has been hashed out already but we need something to talk about and we all keep learning right… wink

18 bottom hull design and effects

I have been playing with my 18 now for three years with a 260 hp Volvo and then alpha. Followed by a 383 Bravo about 400 hp. I have been running my boat as well as many other 18’s and been going through in my head how each of them run.

The earlier boats ( barrelbacks), like mine, have sharp keels and full length running strakes. The later ones ( after about 69) all have rounded keels and short inner strakes.

The general characteristic I have heard is the earlier boat has a greater tendency to slam or sort of slap the water on reentry. I am not inclined to say pound.

After all this time I have come to a few other ideas. I think until about 64-65 mph the earlier boat, with the exception of the pre stipulated slamming, acts very similar to the later rounded keel boat. However above that speed she is a different animal. While testing an exact set up back to back has not been possible through some conversations with other 18 owners and running their boats I see the following ( all in reference to above 65 mph):

At high speeds the stern lift on the barrelback is significantly greater. In order to get the boat aired out much more positive trim on the drive is needed. I feel this is creating a boat that not only runs higher and looser but a boat that is not as inclined to carry the bow as well. You have to trim the drive more, create more drag and lift even more of the boat out of the water then in a later hull. This creates an entirely different riding boat.